Bishop Cletus Chandrasiri Perera O.S.B.

Bishop Cletus Chandrasiri Perera O.S.B was born on Sept. 6, 1947 in Seeduwa, in the archdiocese of Colombo. His parents are Joseph Eliot Perera and Kovilage Roslyn Silva. He has a brother elder to him and a sister and a brother younger to him. He was ordained a priest on Aug. 4, 1973 and was ordained Bishop of Ratnapura on July 11, 2007 in the Basilica of the 12 Apostles in Rome. He was installed as the third bishop of Ratnapura on July 28 in Sts. Peter and Paul Cathedral in Ratnapura.

Bishop Perera studied in Rome 1978-81 and obtained a Licentiate in Sacred Liturgy from the Pontifical Liturgical Institute at the University of St. Anselmo. He also served as the diocesan youth coordinator, the parish priest of St. Anthony's Cathedral, Kandy from 1992 to 1998. In 1984, he was appointed parish priest of Wahacotte in the central diocese of Kandy, where he later served as vicar general for eight years. As a priest, he worked on justice and peace issues and was director of the diocesan pastoral center, and general manager of Catholic private schools. He was the diocesan director of the Legion of Mary as well and was the Conventual Prior of the Order of St. Benedict (OSB) in Sri Lanka from 2002 till he was ordained. He has served Kandy diocese as the general manager of the Catholic private schools from 1992 and was holding this post at the time of his nomination as Bishop of Ratnapura. Bishop Perera is chairman of the Catholic National Commission for Interreligious Dialogue and Ecumenism and the Commission for Missionary Activity of Sri Lankan Bishops' Conference.

Bishop Cletus Chandrasiri

Bishop Cletus Chandrasiri Perera O.S.B.

Upcoming Events


Opening of the Sunday school for the second term


4th to 6th of May: Seminar for the Sunday school Prefects in Tamil and Sinhala medium


18th to 20th of May: Third Seminar for the Advanced Level Students in Sinhala and Tamil Medium


Oral, debate and drama competitions base on Bible knowledge


1st to 3rd of June: Fourth Seminar for the Advanced Level Students in Sinhala and Tamil Medium


One day workshop for the Sunday school teachers of Buluthota, Rakwana and Embilipitia Parishes